introduction

Feelin' social? Introduce yourself here!

introduction

Postby js0000 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:48 pm

hi

i'm a programmer/musician who has played around with MIDI for a while. i'm looking forward to the oneTesla for many reasons; but it seems to be an curious intersection of art and science that just grabs me.
js0000
Tipsy Toggle Switch

Re: introduction

Postby heymoe » Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:18 pm

Hi Everyone!

My name is Gary and my friends think I'm crazy for backing this Kickstarter project. They think I'm going to blow myself up, burn my house down, kill all my electronics, etc.. which I guess are all possibilities with this type of device but what do they know.. right :)

I'm not a musician so I'm glad that the interrupter has been updated to work standalone without MIDI input. I'm more of a science / electronics guy that has thought about building a high voltage device like a Tesla-Coil or a Jacob's Ladder for a while but never got around to sourcing all the parts so the oneTesla is a perfect solution for me.

I can't wait to start building it!

-Gary
heymoe
Tipsy Toggle Switch

Postby stegu » Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:21 pm

I'm a researcher and lecturer at a Swedish university, with a background in physics and electronics, but now focusing on computer graphics and special effects. I have had plans for building a Tesla coil myself, using some of the many helpful suggestions on the Internet, but I never actually got around to it because of big problems with sourcing the components. The OneTesla DIY kit is the perfect toy for a 47 year old kid like me. I hope it will arrive in time for my birthday in May. Yes, I'll be careful. Promise. (Muhahaha. And they said I was crazy. I'll show them!)
stegu
Magnificent MOSFET

Postby Fiddy » Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:47 pm

Hey man!

Good stuff, ill be looking for a whole bunch of MIDI files in the near future, did you get in on the first run of the kit?
Pico SGTC
Nano SSTC
Audio Modulated SSTC
Audio Modulated Bipolar SSTC