How to make onetesla friendly MIDI files?

Share your MIDI files here

How to make onetesla friendly MIDI files?

Postby Fiddy » Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:23 pm

Hey,

Ive downloaded MidiEditor and FL Studio Demo and cant figure out how to make a channel ive isolated into channel 1?

Thats all i need to do right?

If someone could give me some advice or extra things i need to do that would be great too.

CHeers! Mitch.
Pico SGTC
Nano SSTC
Audio Modulated SSTC
Audio Modulated Bipolar SSTC
TinyTesla SSTC
Onetesla TS DRSSTC
OneTesla DRSSTC
EVR MicroBrute DRSSTC
Fiddy
Terrific Tube

Re: How to make onetesla friendly MIDI files?

Postby Moors7 » Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:06 am

Hello,
I have no personal experience with FL Studio, but I'm sure there's a hidden option somewhere to accomplish that. For editing my files I mostly used AvilStudio, which lets you edit the channels easily, and has a piano roll editor as well.
When you say you've isolated a channel, do you mean you've just disabled all other tracks, or have you actually manually checked the track. This is relevant because you can only play a maximum of two notes at any given time. Playing more notes than that won't harm your coil, but it will seriously mess up your song. That's the very reason it's so time consuming to make songs for a tesla coil; you have to check every damn track manually...
Anyways, good luck, and let us know if you need any more help!
~Jordy
Take a look at my website for oneTesla compatible MIDI files. Enjoy.
Moors7
Terrific Tube

Postby ican » Mon Nov 18, 2013 11:38 am

Making oneTesla-safe midi files in midieditor is actually pretty easy and straightforward once you get the hang of the controls... The first thing you should do when you load up a new midi file is use the vertical zoom out tool to get all the channels on screen. Horizontal zoom is far less important, because you will end up with too many notes on the screen at once.